Lecture: ‘Eurometropolis’


The Eurometropolis Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai is made up of 147 French and Belgian municipalities. This alliance of towns is the first 'European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC)’ recognized by the EU. This transnational area is home to 2,000,000 inhabitants and is located in the centre of Europe, in the heart of the triangle formed by London, Paris and Brussels. The Eurometropolis is a consultative body that works together to support and promote cross-border, supranational and interregional cooperation. It crosses cultural, political and administrative borders and, in the process, exploits the existing diversity as a force with the aim of positioning this central European territory on an international scale.

Venue: Dépendance building, Schieblock, Schiekade 189, Rotterdam
Date: 18 October 2011
Starting time: 20:00 hrs
Admission: € 5, to be paid at the door
Language: English
Reservations: events@iabr.nl (reservation recommended)